CGPS Science Project:
Disk-Halo Interactions


The Disk-Halo Team

Shantanu Basu basu@astro.uwo.ca
Jayanne English Jayanne_English@UManitoba.ca
Carle Heiles heiles@bkyast.berkeley.edu
Judith Irwin irwin@astro.queensu.ca
Doug Johnstonejohnston@cita.utoronto.ca
Sergey Mashchenko syam@ASTRO.UMontreal.CA
Magdalen Normandeaumagdalen.scie@alumni.ucalgary.ca
Russ Taylor russ@ras.ucalgary.ca
New Members (2002)
Ashish Asgekarashish@physics.umanitoba.ca
Jennifer West umwestjl@cc.UManitoba.CA

Overview

The Mushroom
The "Mushroom"
The Chimney
The "Chimney"

This team has been organized to study vertical HI features emanating from the disk. These objects should indicate how the gas in the Galaxy's halo is replenished and the halo's energy input is maintained. These systematic studies will examine, on a parsec scale, the interaction of stars with the ISM. Hence we expect our results to be relevant to other CGPS subprojects.

Details about the science drivers are available in Newsletter Articles and in the NSERC proposals. Projects, historic and current, are listed at the science project registry.


Results


Current On-Going Studies


Related Studies


CGPS newsletter articles:


Public Press Releases Pages


Disk-Halo Publications

Use your browser's "back" button to return to this page.


Return to top of page.


Maintained by Jayanne_English@UManitoba.ca. Last modified 2002 June 25.
Return to CGPS main page | science project registry.